Every Georgia resident knows that drunk driving is illegal. Unfortunately, countless Georgians continue to get behind the wheel of their cars or trucks after drinking enough alcohol to put them over the legal limit. Even though many make it to their destinations without incident, many do not, and drunk driving-related accidents are often the result. Many of those accidents leave victims seriously injured, while others leave families facing futures without their loved ones.
According to statistics released by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, from 2003 to 2012, almost 3,700 people were killed in accidents that involved drunk drivers in the state of Georgia. The statistics also show that those between the ages of 21 and 34 were more likely to die in drunk driving accidents than Georgians in other age ranges. Additionally, men are slightly more likely to die in alcohol-related crashes than women.
Due to these startling numbers and others similar to them from every state in the United States, drunk driving laws are in place across the country that make it illegal to drive if your blood alcohol content is greater than 0.08 percent. Additionally, for drivers under 21 years of age, it is illegal to drive with any alcohol in their bloodstream. Unfortunately, even with these laws in place, drivers continue to risk their lives, those of their passengers and those with whom they share the roads.
If you sustained an injury in a drunk driving accident or you lost a loved one to a drunk driver, you may be eligible to file a personal injury or wrongful death claim. In the state of Georgia, you have the right to pursue compensation when you suffered because of another person's negligent act, and drunk driving is considered negligent. If you would like to learn more about pursuing compensation, you may find the assistance of a legal professional beneficial.